Congratulations to All for Another Outstanding El Dia del Agua! UPDATED 2.0

March 28, 2012
The sun has set on another outstanding El Dia del Agua! 
More than 100 hydrology and water resources professionals, HWR alumni, faculty, staff, and prospective and current students attended today's event which featured 9 oral presentations and 25 posters.  A tribute to the life and professional career of our late department head and much missed colleague, Dr. Nathan Buras, was made prior to the luncheon by Regents Professor Shlomo P. Neuman. 
Our luncheon speaker, Seton Claggett (MS '01), Founder and CEO of TriSports, Inc., talked about his metamorphosis from hydrologist to global business owner and how the concept of environmental sustainability has informed both his professional and personal life.  (We love those solar panels and those huge rainwater harvesting tanks!)
Following final oral and poster sessions, our  keynote speaker, Dr. Walter Illman (PHD '99), Associate Professor of Earth and Environmental Sciences, University of Waterloo, talked about his professional career from doctoral student to postdoc to associate professor.  Illman discussed the current methodologies and challenges in capturing aquifer heterogeneity and his own professional work in that area.  (We love that field research site situated right next door to your campus office!)
What a great way to kick off EarthWeek 2012!   Congratulations and good luck to some of our oral and poster presenters who will share their El Dia presentations with EarthWeek's other research symposia--AIR, GeoDAZE, SWES Day, and the LTRR special sessions--on Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday this week.  UPDATEHWR student wins EarthWeek Plenary Session Award!
Congratulations to all students who participated--our oral and poster presenters, our session moderators, and our all-important HWRSA organizers and volunteers.  Your enthusiasm, dedication, and hard work never fail to amaze and inspire us. 
Special congratulations go to those students recognized with awards and prizes for superior oral and poster presentations.  This year's honorees included:


  • Claire M. Stielstra, winner of the Montgomery Prize, for her oral presentation on "Quantifying the role of hydrologic variability in soil carbon efflux."  Claire's $2000 award was presented by Elizabeth Leon Mora, HWR alum, representing Montgomery and Associates, Inc.


  • Ingo Heidbuechel , first place Hargis Award winner for best poster presentation of his work, "Tracking variations of catchment storage with stable water isotopes."  Ingo's $1000 award was presented by Dr. Leo Leonhart, HWR alum and principal of Hargis+Associates, Inc.


  • Katherine E. Condon, second place Hargis Award winner for best poster presentation of her work, "Quantifying the erosion, translocation and deposition of soil organic carbon following wildfire."  Kate's $400 award was also presented by Dr. Leo Leonhart of Hargis+Associates, Inc.


  • Grey Nearing, winner of the HWR Department Award for best oral presentation of his work, "A utility metric for data assimilation observing system simulation experiments." Grey's $400 award was presented by Dr. Larry Winter, HWR Department Head.


  • Gina DeRosa, winner of the HWR Department Award for best poster presentation of her work, "Predicting regime shifts in flow of the Gunnison river under changing climate conditions."  Gina's $400 award was also presented by Dr.Larry Winter, HWR Department Head.


  • Brian Scott Shepherd, winner of the Donald R. Davis Undergraduate with Distinction Award for best poster presentation of his work, "The effect of wildfire on rangeland sustainability in the San Rafael valley."  Scott's $400 award was presented by Dr. Tom Meixner, HWR Associate Department Head.


  • Adam M. Karczynski, winner of the inaugural Eugene S. Simpson Undergraduate Award for best poster presentation of his work, "COSMOS neutron data and hydraulic conductivity determination."  Adam's $400 award was presented by Dr. Tom Mexiner, HWR Associate Department Head.


What an outstanding group of student researchers.  Congratulations again to all the winners and to all who helped make the 22nd Annual El Dia del Agua such a huge success!